Compiling A Bibliography
Compiling a Bibliography
To make the process of compiling your Bibliography easier, you may wish to use the software program Citation 5. This is available to you via the Novell Applications menu.
Nudgee College uses the Harvard system for Referencing. The following examples provide a format for students to use when compiling a Bibliography.
Bibliography Format
Your Bibliography is to be arranged alphabetically by author (or title, if no author) in one single list, and placed at the end of the assignment. All material quoted or used in the text of an assignment must be acknowledged by citation and referenced in the Bibliography.
- One Author
Windley-Daoust, J. 2001, Living Justice and Peace, Saint Mary's Press, Winona, Minnesota. - Two Authors
Moody, P.E. & Morley, R.E. 1999, The Technology Machine, Free Press, New York, NY. - More than two authors but less than five
Vickers-Rich, P., Rich, T.H., Rich, L.S. & Rich, T. 1997, Australia's Ancient Birds, Kangaroo Press, Kenthurst, NSW. - More than five authors
Mudge,P (et.al.) 2003, Living religion: Studies of Religion for Senior Students, Longman Cheshire. Melbourne. - Author unknown
Guide for Effective Expository Essay Writing 1998, University of Queensland Press, Brisbane. - Editor but no author
Healy, J. (ed.) 2003, Drug use in Sport, Spinney Press, Sydney. - Article by one Author which is part of a work edited or compiled by another
Abboud, Dr. A. 2003, "The Stem Cell Debate" quoted in Healy, J. (ed.), Stem Cell Research, Spinney Press, Sydney, pp.25-28. - Corporate Authorship
Australian Bureau of Statistics 2002, 2002 Year Book Australia (No. 84), Australian Bureau of Statistics, Canberra. - Book – edition
Morton, JS 1984, Wind power: an overview, 2nd ed., Melbourne University Press, Melbourne. - Magazine Article - Author known
Abernathy, M. 2003, "The cable spy", The Bulletin, vol.120, no. 6357, pp. 68-69. - Magazine Article - Author unknown
"Longer working hours" 2003, Social Action, issue 244, pp. 5-7. - Newspapers
Cameron, F. 2003, "There's movement at the top end stations", The Australian, 14 February, pp.27. - Document or article from Online Database
Wilson, T 2005, "Lack of donor support threatens food supplies for 2 million refugees", Africa News Service, May 18 2005, in Expanded Academic, viewed 6 June 2005 http://infotrac.galegroup.com - Interviews
Stephen, R. 2005, Buddhism (Interview), 18 February, Brisbane. - CD-ROMS
Quille, D. 1994, The Way Things Work (CD ROM) Dorling Kindersley, London. - DVD
Pay it Forward 2001, DVD Warner Home Video, Pyrmont, NSW. Starring Kevin Spacey and Helen Hunt, produced by Steven Reuther. - Videos
The Blue Planet (Episodes 1-3) videorecording 2001, BBC Worldwide, London. - Web Video Clip
The Overlander 2007, Overlander.tv: Aboriginal tent embassy, Canberra, online video, accessed 31 July 2007, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=abMlHjO2nh4 . NOTE: It is best not to use the use the name of the person who posted the video clip as the author (unless they produced it) - World Wide Web
Cornish, J. 2000, "Gander Academy's Tropical Rainforest Theme", Gander Academy's Hurricane Resources on the World Wide Web viewed 11 February, 2002 http://www.stemnet.nf.ca/CITE/rforest.htm - Email
Wright, AT 2010, email, 6 June. NOTE: Attachments sent as part of an email should be cited according to the document type, not as an email. Email addresses should never be published without the specific permission of the owner of the address. Intext citation of an email is as any personal communication: "AT Wright confirmed this by email on 6 June 2005." - Reference to an encyclopedia article
"Aluminium" 2001, World Book Encyclopedia, vol. 1, World Book, London, pp.391-398. - Reference to whole set of encyclopedias
The Environment Encyclopedia 2000, Marshall Cavendish, New York, NY, 11 volumes. - Podcasts (for audio podcasts use “accessed” rather than “viewed”)
Star Stuff with Stuart Gary, podcast, ABC Podcasting, 10 March, accessed 12 March, 2010, http://www.abc.net.au/science/podcast/starstuff.xml
For a more comprehensive explanation on referencing: Library Referencing Guides USQ @ http://www.usq.edu.au/library/help/referencing/Harvard